#WinnerWednesday: Congratulations to Our Authors!

Congratulations to our authors who have received prestigious honors over the past week!

Winner of the 2015 Hagley Prize in Business History, Hagley Museum and Library and Business History Conference

  • Walter A. Friedman – Fortune Tellers: The Story of America’s First Economic Forecasters

“The Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference jointly offer an annual prize for the best book in business history, broadly defined. The prize committee encourages the submission of books from all methodological perspectives. It is particularly interested in innovative studies that have the potential to expand the boundaries of the discipline.”

Find more information about the Hagley Prize here.

Winner of the 2015 Stuart L. Bernath Book Prize, Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations

  • Adam Ewing – The Age of Garvey: How a Jamaican Activist Created a Mass Movement and Changed Global Black Politics

“The purpose of the award is to recognize and encourage distinguished research and writing by scholars of American foreign relations. The prize of $2,500 is awarded annually to an author for his or her first book on any aspect of the history of American foreign relations.”

Find more information about the Stuart L. Bernath Prize here.

#WinnerWednesdays: Congratulations to our authors!

Congratulations to our authors who have received honors over the past week!

Co-Winner of the 2015 Ralph Gomory Prize, Business History Conference

  • Emily Erikson – Between Monopoly and Free Trade: The English East India Company, 1600–1757

“This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate. A prize of $5,000 is awarded annually for a book published in the two years prior to the year of the award.”

For more information about this prize, click here.

Jeremiah P. Ostriker is a Co-Winner of the 2015 Gruber Cosmology Prize for Theoretical and Experimental Explorations of the Universe (with John Carlstrom and Lyman Page), The Gruber Foundation.

“The Cosmology Prize honors a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the universe.”

#WinnerWednesdays: Congratulations to our authors!

We are celebrating the impressive honors that several of our authors have received:

Jeremiah Ostriker, co-author of the Princeton University Press publication Heart of Darkness, has been awarded the prestigious Gruber Prize.

Co-Authors Robert E. Buswell Jr. and Donald S. Lopez Jr. have been awarded the 2015 Dartmouth Medal for their work on the publication The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism.

Nicolette Warisse Sosulski of Booklist writes:

From the time that we received our copies, we knew that The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism was going to be a top contender for the award. In terms of craftsmanship—the book as an artifact—the book is “elegant,” as one committee member stated at the Midwinter session.The cover is one that attracts the reader, with an evocative, beautifully
lit sculpture of the Buddha on a dark background with a simple typeface. The paper is high quality, as we noticed as we fondled the 1,265 pages. From the information we gleaned from reviews and the introductory matter, it was evident that this book had breadth and depth unparalleled in other works on Buddhism, as it is the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

To explore the rest of the Booklist article, click here.

To sample The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism, explore the preface here.

Congratulations to all of our authors on these honors and many more!

#WinnerWednesdays: Congratulations to our authors!

Over the past week several of our authors have received very impressive honors:

Honorable Mention for the 2015 Hubert Morken Award for Best Book, Religion and Politics Section of the American Political Science Association

  • Carrie Rosefsky Wickham – The Muslim Brotherhood: Evolution of an Islamist Movement

“The Hurbert Morken Award is given for the best publication dealing with religion and politics published during the last two years. The award will be presented this September at the 2015 APSA Conference in San Francisco.”

Winner of the 2015 Lynton Keith Caldwell Prize, Science Technology, and Environmental Politics Section of the American Political Science Association

  • Jessica F. Green – Rethinking Private Authority: Agents and Entrepreneurs in Global Environment Governance

“The Lynton Keith Caldwell Prize recognizes the best book on environmental politics and policy published in the past three years. The award will be presented at APSA’s annual meeting in San Francisco in September.”

For more information, click here.

Co-Winner of the 2015 Outstanding Published Book Award, Altruism, Morality and Social Solidarity Section of the American Sociological Association

  • Gabriel Abend – The Moral Background: An Inquiry into the History of Business Ethics

“The Outstanding Published Book Award… is given annually to author(s) of a theoretical analysis, research monograph, or reader published in the last five years that increases knowledge and understanding of altruism, morality, and/or social solidarity.”

View the official announcement here.