Hot off the Presses — Princeton University Press’s #NewBooks for this week

After Hegel: German Philosophy, 1840-1900<br>Frederick C. Beiser After Hegel:
German Philosophy, 1840-1900
Frederick C. Beiser


“This exciting book provides an excellent overview of German philosophy in the latter two-thirds of the nineteenth century, showing that this relatively neglected period deserves more attention. The book is full of original insights, makes extraordinary use of obscure sources, and ties it all together in a clear and lively narrative that readers at all levels will enjoy. It will instantly become the main concise work on this period and should have a wide audience and a long career.”–Karl Ameriks, University of Notre Dame
The Gamble: Choice and Chance in the 2012 Presidential Election<br>John Sides & Lynn Vavreck<br>With a new preface by the authors The Gamble:
Choice and Chance in the 2012 Presidential Election
John Sides & Lynn Vavreck
With a new preface by the authors


“Sides and Vavreck offer a detailed, quantified description of the battlefield–an effort to provide political science insight in real time.”–David Lauter, Los Angeles Times/Jacket Copy blog
Mothers of Conservatism: Women and the Postwar Right<br>Michelle M. Nickerson Mothers of Conservatism:
Women and the Postwar Right
Michelle M. Nickerson


“Nickerson has enriched conservative historiography by examining the integral role women played in conservatism’s development and implementation and has forced feminist historiography to confront the complications that conservative female activists bring to the literature.”–Mary C. Brennan, Journal of American History
The Mystery of the Invisible Hand: A Henry Spearman Mystery<br>Marshall Jevons The Mystery of the Invisible Hand:
A Henry Spearman Mystery
Marshall Jevons


“A cerebral delight, The Mystery of the Invisible Hand is an engrossing, original, and compelling whodunit in the tradition of Amanda Cross and Joanne Dobson.”–Carolyn Hart, Agatha Award-winning author of Letter from Home
Story/Time: The Life of an Idea<br>Bill T. Jones Story/Time:
The Life of an Idea
Bill T. Jones


“An experimental dancer/choreographer/performance artist improvises on the nature of story itself in a unique format. . . . A brave and often successful attempt to capture and display movement and intuition and the unspoken on the printed page.”–Kirkus Reviews
Upscaling Downtown: From Bowery Saloons to Cocktail Bars in New York City<br>Richard E. Ocejo Upscaling Downtown:
From Bowery Saloons to Cocktail Bars in New York City
Richard E. Ocejo


“A beautifully conceived and elegantly executed book that employs a magnifying glass to understand New York City. Focusing on bars in downtown Manhattan, Ocejo reveals the changing face of New York City in all its richness and complexity, enabling us to understand the key players in gentrification over time–old-timers, new arrivals, politicians, business owners, and activists–and how they interact and influence each other.”–William B. Helmreich, author of The New York Nobody Knows