This Time is Different wins TIAA-CREF Paul A. Samuelson Award; 2 other PUP books declared finalists

Carmen M. Reinhart and Kennet S. Rogoff’s This Time is Different: Eight Centuries of Financial Folly was recently declared winner of the TIAA-CREF Paul A. Samuelson Award! This prize, given on behalf of the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association – College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA-CREF), honors books that exhibit outstanding scholarly writing on lifelong financial security and includes a cash prize of $10,000. It is named after Paul A. Samuelson, the first American to win the Nobel Prize in economics and a former CREF Trustee. The award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Allied Social Science Association in Denver, CO in January 2011.

The two other Princeton University Press books that were considered for this award were also declared finalists. Francis X. Diebold, Neil A. Doherty, and Richard J. Herring’s The Known, the Unknown, and the Unknowable in Financial Risk Management: Measurement and Theory Advancing Practice was one finalist, and Raghuram G. Rajan’s Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten the World Economy was the other. Congratulations, everyone!

If you’d like to see a list of honors that other PUP books have received, please click here.