2 PUP authors awarded ASEEES 2010 Marshall Shulman Book Prize

The Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES) has awarded two Princeton University Press authors the Marshall Shulman Book Prize. The co-winners are Lorenz M. Lüthi, author of The Sino-Soviet Split: Cold War in the Communist World, and Mary Elise Sarotte, who wrote 1989: The Struggle to Create Post-Cold War Europe. Congratulations to both of you!

According to the ASEEES official awards announcement, the Marshall Shulman Book Prize is given to outstanding monographs that deal with “the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe.” Both Lüthi and Sarotte’s works address these topics, though they focus on different locations and time periods. In The Sino-Soviet Split, Lüthi explores Sino-Soviet political relations in the 1950s and 1960s, while in 1989, Sarotte examines the momentous events following the fall of the Berlin Wall and the impacts they have had on our world.

The Sino-Soviet Split has also been declared winner of the 2008 Edgar S. Furniss Book Award from the Mershon Center for International Security Studies at The Ohio State University. 1989 has been awarded the Robert H. Ferrell Book Prize 2010 Award from the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations, the 2009 DAD Prize for Distinguished Scholarship in German and European Studies from the American Institute for Contemporary German Studies (AICGS), and was featured on the the Financial Times‘ “Books of the Year” list.

To see a list of other recent award-winning books from PUP, click here.